South Asia Program events calendar ∙ spring 2024

SPRING 2024

All events are in person on Mondays @ 12:15 pm Eastern (New York) Time in G08 Uris Hall (*unless otherwise indicated). All events are open to the public.

January

Monday, January 29 @ 12:15 pm EST | Local Women, Global Histories? Gendering Economic Life, Law, and Islam in Transregional India | Du Fei (History, Cornell University)

February

Monday, February 5 @ 12:15 pm EST | Caste and Honor in North-West Pakistan | Hadia Akhtar Khan (Global Labor & Work, ILR School, Cornell University)

Monday, February 12 @ 12:15 pm EST | The Good Seed and Why It Matters | Ashawari Chaudhuri (Science & Technology Studies, Cornell University)

*Saturday, February 17 @ 7:30 pm EST | Bailey Hall | Cornell Concert Series presents: DoosTrio | Kayhan Kalhor, Wu Man, and Sandeep Das

Monday, February 19 @ 12:15 pm EST | Wireless Broadcasting in Eastern Bengal: Sound, Nation, Modernity, 1939-1979 | Mahruba Mowtushi (English and Humanities, BRAC University, Bangladesh)

*Wednesday, February 28 @ 4:30 pm EST | A. D. White House | Roses, in the Mouth of a Lion | Bushra Rehman (Novelist), in conversation with Prachi Patankar (Writer and Activist)

March

*Wednesday, March 6 @ 7:00 pm EST | Cornell Cinema | Afghan Women Behind the Wheel film screening | Sahraa Karimi (Director)

Monday, March 11 @ 12:15 pm EDT | Speaking across the Ocean: Vakkom Mohammed Maulavi and the Idea of a Public Sphere | Dilip Menon (Indian Studies, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa)

Monday, March 18 @ 12:15 pm EDT | Terrorist or Hero? What the News Said About a Pakistani Man at the World Trade Center | Nausheen Husain (Magazine, News and Digital Journalism, Syracuse University) & Mohammad Ebad Athar (History, Syracuse University)

*Friday, March 22 @ 7:30 pm EST | Bailey Hall | Cornell Concert Series presents: TIRSA | Zakir Hussain, Debopriya Chatterjee & Sabir Khan

Monday, March 25 @ 12:15 pm EDT | Hazaras and Shias: Violence, Discrimination, and Exclusion Under Taliban Rule | Tawab Danish (Law School, Cornell University)

April

Monday, April 8 @ 12:15 pm EDT | Retrieving an Asian Imaginary: Through the Prism of a Southasian Borderland | Kavita Panjabi (Comparative Literature, Jadavpur University, India)

*Friday, April 12 @ 12:15 pm EDT | Kahin Center | 14th Annual Tagore Lecture: Sex, Sedition & Storytelling | Aruni Kashyap (English and Creative Writing, University of Georgia)

*Monday, April 15 @ 7:00 pm EDT | Cornell Cinema | All that Breathes film screening | Shaunak Sen (Director)

Monday, April 22 @ 12:15 pm EDT | How Kabariwalas Persist: The Changing Nature of Labor in High-value Recycling Markets in Urban India | Aman Luthra (Geography, George Washington University)

*Friday, April 26 @ 9:00 am EDT | 700 Clark Hall | Agrarian Studies, Climate Change, and the Future of Work conference

Monday, April 29 @ 12:15 pm EDT | The Suspicious Suicide: Toxicity, Masculinity, and the Political Economy of GM Cotton in Central India | Aarti Sethi (Anthropology, University of California Berkeley)

For more information, visit our website, Twitter, Facebook or Instagram

Videos of SAP events are posted on our YouTube channel

Image: Nelum Pokuna (Lotus Pond), Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka (Photo by Daniel Bass)