Announcing the 2024 AACP New Investigators Administered through the AACP Council of Sections, the NIA supports projects in all areas of research within academic pharmacy.

AACP is pleased to announce that four pharmacy faculty members have been selected as recipients of the prestigious New Investigator Award (NIA).

For more than 30 years, AACP has provided seed funding for promising research faculty across the colleges of pharmacy. Although the grant program has gone by many names, what is currently the New Investigator Award (NIA) has maintained a common objective: to assist early-career pharmacy faculty in the development of an independent research program and provide a foundation for future extramural research funding success by enabling these faculty to generate preliminary data.

“[Receiving this award was a] confidence boost—peer reviewers in my discipline saw the value and scientific rigor of my research project," said Dr. Marcia Worley, 2002 NIA recipient, told AACP's Academic Pharmacy Now magazine in 2018.

"This was very important to me as a junior investigator."

Dr. Worley is now the Merrell Dow Professor and Chair of the Division of Outcomes and Translational Sciences at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy.

Over the program’s tenure, the NIA has funded nearly 500 principal investigators across more than 100 colleges and schools of pharmacy. The breadth of research areas funded by the NIA runs the gamut from basic understanding of disease states and drug discovery to medication adherence to understanding and improving student learning experiences. The results of these projects are discussed in numerous journal articles, poster presentations and platform talks.

The NIA provides a foundation for future research success for new pharmacy faculty and is open to full-time faculty at the assistant professor level within the first five years of their first faculty appointment. Projects are for one year, and NIA recipients present their project results at the AACP annual meeting following project completion.

AACP is excited to announce the 2024 class of New Investigators.

Samuel Adeosun, Ph.D.

High Point University

A Theory- and Data-Driven Approach to Core Journals List in Pharmacy Practice

Cintia Citterio, Ph.D.

Chapman University

Molecular Pathogenesis of Thyroid Cystinosis and New Therapeutic Approaches

John Fetse, Ph.D.

Larkin University

Development of Smart Drug Delivery Systems for Prostate Cancer Immunotherapy

Chad Johnson, Ph.D.

University of Maryland

Muscarinic Antagonist Antidepressants Lacking Cognitive Deficits

Congratulations to this year's recipients.